Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515-4319

July 31, 2024

The Honorable Merrick Garland Attorney General U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20530

Dear Attorney General Garland,

We write today to encourage an investigation into allegations that Texas Children's Hospital (TCH) may be committing Medicaid fraud and, therefore, would be in violation of 31 U.S.C. § 3729 and ineligible to be a Medicaid provider. Through the Medicaid program, each state establishes its own eligibility standards in accordance with certain minimum federal requirements. Under the Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual issued in February 2021, sex change procedures are deemed not a benefit of Medicaid.

In 2023, the Texas legislature passed and Governor Greg Abbott signed into law Texas Senate Bill 14. This law prohibits health care providers from performing procedures and treatments for gender transition and reassignment to persons under the age of 18 years old and the use of public money or public assistance to provide those procedures and treatments.

Having been passed by the state legislature and signed by the Governor – direct representatives of the people of Texas – refusal to follow this law is not only illegal but circumvents the will of the people of Texas and their morals and values.

There have been two whistleblowers from TCH's staff who gave detailed accounts of how TCH has administered gender transition medications and procedures, which now violate SB 14, and charged these treatments to Texas STAR Medicaid managed care programs. They have also alleged TCH has attempted to cover up its transgender program and its Medicaid fraud, including through misleading public statements and false diagnoses in treatment.

We urge the Department of Justice to investigate this matter under 31 U.S.C. § 3729 and all other relevant authorities.

Sincerely,

Jodey Arrington

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Ronny Jackson

Ronny Jackson
Member of Congress

Randy Weber
Member of Congress

Chip Roy
Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress Keith Self
Member of Congress

Lance Gooden
Member of Congress

Pat Fallon

Member of Congress

Morgan Luttrell Member of Congress